Two days left for the 2022 African Genius Awards – Here is a step-by-step guide on how you can watch the event live

The African Genius Awards is one of the continent’s biggest accolades. Initiated by Priority Performance Project in partnership with Plus94 Research and University of Pretoria, the awards are aimed to celebrate change-makers in Africa that are contributing immensely to solving Africa’s problems using their talents and skills.

This year’s event has seen 31 nominees from various countries on the continent. These 31 Africans have contributed greatly in shaping their communities and countries. Their exceptional service to their countries, and extraordinary talents and skills have been of significant help in changing the dynamics and solving modern societal problems.

The awards are being held for a second year, and winners will be announced at a ceremony hosted by 702’s Bongani Bingwa, one of the biggest media personalities in South Africa, at the University of Pretoria’s Future Africa Institute on Africa Day, 25 May 2022, at 18h00 – 20h00 GMT

To watch the event live, follow the instructions below;

  • Visit
  • Register for the event by filling the form
  • First step in filling the form is by entering your title (Mr, Ms, Mrs, Dr, Prof)
  • Second step, you enter your first name
  • Third step, you enter your surname
  • Fourth step, you enter your email address
  • Fifth step, you confirm your email address
  • Last and final step, you click on Register
  • Then, you open your Email or Gmail app where you will see a link sent to you by the organizers. You’ll use it to watch the live event

The inaugural AGA ceremony took place virtually from UP’s Future Africa Institute on 25 May 2021. This year 31 finalists were shortlisted from 69 people nominated by the public and the Adjudication Committee. “This is almost three times the number of entries received in 2021,” Dr Falala said. “The top four participating countries were Sierra Leone, South Africa, Nigeria, and the USA, with common fields or skills being recognised in leadership, philanthropy, entrepreneurship, and innovation.”

Three winners were honoured in 2021: the late South African Black Consciousness leader Bantu Stephen Biko, Nigerian business magnate Aliko Mohammed Dangote, and Nigerian award-winning author Albert Chinụalụmọgụ Achebe.

See full list of the 2022 nominees here

Author: Abu Bakarr Jalloh

Abu Bakarr Jalloh is a Sierra Leonean content writer, author, Neo Pan-African and founder of The African Dream, an online platform for inspiring, positive and compelling African stories. Contact: WhatsApp: +23276211583